USA Biomedical Library's blog

Spring Break Hours 2015

From Friday, February 27- Sunday, March 8, the Biomedical Library will be closing 1 hour early on Mondays-Fridays for Spring Break hours. See details below.

  • Friday, Feb 27 - 7:15am-4:45pm
  • Saturday, Feb 28 - 9:00am-5:45pm
  • Sunday, Mar 1 - 1:00pm to 9:45pm
  • Monday, Mar 2-Thursday, Mar 5 - 7:15am-9:45pm
  • Friday, Mar 6 - 7:15am-4:45pm
  • Saturday, Mar 7 - 9:00am-5:45pm
  • Sunday, Mar 8 - 1:00pm-9:45pm

Have a safe and happy Spring Break!

photo credit: John Tuggle

Closed February 17, 2015 for Mardi Gras

Mobile Mardi Gras by Amy Walker

The Biomedical Library will be closed with the rest of the university for in celebration of Mardi Gras next Tuesday, February 17, 2015. Regular hours will be observed both Monday the 16th and Wednesday the 18th. Have a safe and happy Mardi Gras!

Laissez les bons temps rouler!

 

photo credit: Amy Walker

Library Closed Jan 19 for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Martin Luther King Day of Service Logo

The Biomedical Library will be closed on Monday, January 19, 2015 in observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. It will reopen with regularly scheduled hours on Tuesday morning, January 20.

Please consider joining many other in the USA community and participating in the MLK Day of Service.

 
 
 
 
 

Website Down Time - Sunday, December 21, 2014

Due to a campus wide power outage, the Biomedical Library website will be unavailable Sunday, December 21, 2014. Users can still access our resources through the two following sites:

BL Emergency Access Site: alhela911.org
Marx Library Website: library.southalabama.edu

Online access should be restored by Monday, December 22 and continue to be available throughout the holiday season.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Semester Break & Holiday Hours 2014

Santa on the beach

The USA Biomedical Library will be observing the following semester break and holiday break hours over the coming weeks.

Baugh Biomedical Library (Campus)

  • Semester Break Hours
  • Mon, Dec 15 - 7:15am-8pm
  • Tue, Dec 16-Thur, Dec 18 - 8am-8pm
  • Fri, Dec 19 - 8am-5pm
  • Sat, Dec 20-Sun, Dec 21 - Closed
  • Mon, Dec 22 - 8am-5pm
     
  • Holiday Break
  • Tue, Dec 23-Sun, Jan 4 - Closed

Health Information Resource Center (UMC)

  • Semester Break Hours
  • Mon, Dec 15-Fri, Dec 19 - 8am-5pm
  • Sat, Dec 20-Sun, Dec 21 - Closed
  • Mon, Dec 22 - 8am-5pm
     
  • Holiday Break Hours
  • Tue, Dec 23 - 8am-4pm
  • Wed, Dec 24-Sun, Dec 28 - Closed
  • Mon, Dec 29-Tue, Dec 30 - 8am-4pm
  • Wed, Dec 31-Sun, Jan 4 - Closed

All locations will re-open with regularly scheduled hours Monday, January 5, 2015.

Season's Greetings!

photo: Florida Memory

Extended Weekend Study Hours - Fall 2014

cat sleeping on study materialsThe Biomedical Library on campus will be hosting extended study hours this weekend Friday, December 5 and Saturday, December 6, 2014.

Friday, 12/5 - 7:15am-9:45pm
Saturday, 12/6 - 9:00am-9:45pm

Good luck on your exams!

 

 

photo credit: Ladislav Benes

Library to Open Late Saturday, Nov 15

water by Kamina Kapow on Flickr

Baugh Biomedical Library will open at 1pm on Saturday, November 15 due to a lack of water service to the building during morning hours. The library will remain open until the usual time of 5:45 pm.

 

 

 

 

photo credit: Kamina Kapow

National Medical Libraries Month 2014

National Medical Librarians Month Poster

It's October once again, and that means National Medical Libraries Month! Check out our schedule of special events below and be sure to stop by for contests and treats!

Don’t Drown in Information Day: Friday, October 3rd is a day to remind our department chairs that the Biomedical Library is here to prevent them from “drowning” in information. Enjoy some hand-delivered goodies from us!

Stump the Librarian Contest: Submit your most difficult reference questions to our librarians throughout the month. The top three winners get a prize! Submit your questions to ckent@southalabama.edu

Spot the Sickness Contest: Monday, October 6 - Sunday, October 12. Check out this Q&A slideshow during the first full week of October! Identify the conditions on the screen and submit your answers to hdhoven@southalabama.edu for a chance to win!

Know Your Nurses Contest: Monday, October 13 - Sunday, October 19. Check out this Q & A slideshow of famous nurses during the second week of October. Submit your answers to hdhoven@southalabama.edu for a chance to win!

What Hurts Now Contest: Monday, October 20 - Sunday, October 26. Check out this Q& A slideshow and guess what hurts during the third week of October. Submit your answers to hdhoven@southalabama.edu for a chance to win!

Get to Know Your Biomedical Library Staff and Faculty Week: Monday, October 27 - Wednesday, October 29. Ever wonder who to go to for questions? Check out our fabulous faculty and staff slideshow to learn more about who we are and what we can do for you during the last week of October!

Movie Monsters and their Doctors Days: Thursday, October 30 - Friday, October 31. Check out your favorite movie monsters and their doctors on the flat screen in the Biomedical Library’s break room.

Halloween: Friday, October 31. Stop by and trick-or-treat in the Biomedical Library dressed in your best Halloween digs!

Exhibit Days: Stop by and visit us and ask about the great resources we have for you!

  • Monday, October 6th at the College of Medicine Lobby from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 8th at the HAHN Atrium from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 13th at the USA Medical Center from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Friday, October 17th at the Children’s and Women’s Hospital from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 22nd at the Biomedical Library Breezeway from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Stop by and visit us and ask about the great resources we have for you! Enjoy some popcorn and pink lemonade to support Breast Cancer Awareness with us!

Syndicate content